Rant Corner: Annoying FB friends


I’m not sure why, but I am just generally annoyed with everyone today.

I was having a decent enough day. Caleb and I got our maternity pictures done today 🙂 and then my old coworker gave me a pair of baby shoes for a gift, which was very nice of her. We stopped off for groceries on the way home…..so I was good until after we got home.

I think it started from one of my FB friends posting “Only 8 days until I leave Facebook!”. This rubbed me the WRONG way. This is one of my MANY pet peeves. It just drives me up the freakin’ wall when people announce things like that. Same as those who post, “Going to do a mass friend delete”, and then afterwards post things like, “Congratulations, you made the cut!”.

FB is totally a narcissistic person’s paradise, but for God’s sake, what do you expect people to say to that?

“PLEASE, please, PLEASE don’t leave Facebook!!!!”

or

“PLEASE don’t delete me!!”

or

“Oh, thank you so much for counting me as a friend!”

UGHHHHH. PEOPLE DRIVE ME CRAZY.

It’s like they expect us to drop to our knees and pray to keep them as a FB friend.

So, in regards to my FB friend that posted that…..I beat her to the punch and deleted her. Because, NEWS FLASH. No one gives a shit if you’re leaving Facebook or not. In fact, they probably won’t even notice that you’re gone!

So in celebration of that fact, I purged over 100 people off my friend’s list. Over 100 annoying, obnoxious, generally irritating people.

During this purging process, one of my FB friends popped up on my chat and asked me the most asinine question EVER. First he started off with:

“Hi Olivia, sorry to bother you again, but I have a question to ask you”

I’m already annoyed, but I will give him the benefit of the doubt.

“Ok, shoot”

The stupid ‘typing’ indicator pops up a few times, and it takes him like 5 minutes to ask this oh so important question. Getting steadily more annoyed…

“How would you describe me in high school?”

ARE. YOU. EFFING. KIDDING. ME.

Ok, for perspective on this question, I’ve been out of high school for two years now. This guy is a year older than me. The only time we EVER interacted was in our ONE music class we had together. Therefore, we were never what one would consider “friends”.

This question is fucking stupid.

I gave him the truth,

“I thought you were a very nice guy [this is especially true compared to his twin brother….the biggest asshole I may have ever met], but you were very shy and awkward”

Then he goes on to write this big paragraph about how he found religion (?) and how it made him think about things that “weren’t religion” (?), and BLAH BLAH BLAH. It was completely nonsensical, BTW.

I was going to do the ol’ “I gtg” (when in reality I don’t, of course), but I just said fuck what he thinks about me, and I deleted him. I HATE people like that…..so meek and just….UGH.

Anyway, so after my purge I feel A LOT better.

Although I’m still feeling bitchy. Have you ever had that? Where you can actually FEEL your anger? Like it’s an actual presence inside you?

Weird, yes, but this is what pregnancy hormones do to me.

2 thoughts on “Rant Corner: Annoying FB friends

  1. I did the exact same thing during my first pregnancy with Facebook. I think I purged like 150 “friends” or something. I just didn’t think they deserved to see pictures of my baby when I could barely stand to read their ridiculous statuses. NICE WORK! Feels good, hey? I kind of got addicted to it and then couldn’t stop. I’d go to stalk someone’s profile and realize I’d accidentally deleted them. Oops!

  2. Haha, that totally happened. Someone posted a picture of a friend of mine that I wanted to “like”, and I couldn’t do it because I had deleted them…..hehe. Whatever. 😛

Leave a Reply

