St. Patty’s Day – a.k.a. “The Drunken Express”


So I went out for St. Patty’s Day on Thursday. This is my 3rd legal SPD, and the first one that I’ve been able to get drunk, so I pretty much needed to make up for that.

And oh boy, did I ever!

My friend N picked me up, and we started the night in her car in the college dorm parking lot waiting for our friend to come home so that we could pre-drink in her dorm. Classy. At this point it was 10, so we really needed to get a head on things!

We went to the college bar at around 10:30. It was great, I saw a ton of people that I knew, and not going to lie, it was cool walking through the bar and for people to yell, “OLIVIA!” at me. I was like Norm from Cheers 😛 haha.

This song was stuck in my head all day, and I ended up singing it while waiting in line for a drink:

A guy in front of me was singing a Paulo Nutini song….cool!

My friend M was in the front of the line at the bar, and she says, “Olivia, I’m buying you a shot! Give me your money”, LOL. She bought my drink for me, so I saved 10 minutes of line time! Yay!

Then N and I migrated to another bar, across the street from the college. We stood in line for less than half an hour to get in (I was impressed…..I’ve waited an hour and a half there before), and they didn’t ID me. I still feel cool when that happens…..I’m sure I’ll miss getting ID’d when I’m 30, but for now I think it’s awesome that the doormen remember who I am, LOL.

Anyway, the bar was awesome, as per usu. I stole decorations because I turn into a major klepto when I drink……no idea why. I also decided that stealing abandoned drinks was a good idea too. Sigh. Apparently I have no boundaries once I hit a certain point.

N’s brother got into a fight in the parking lot. A less-drunk me would have ran right inside and grabbed a bouncer, but instead I just stood there and watched.

I told Caleb that I would be home by 1, but by the time I looked at my phone to check what time it was, it was 2:45 am. OOPS.

So N, K, 2 random guys, and I walked back to the dorms. I still have no idea why…I could have saved myself a lot of walking by getting into a cab in front of the bar. But whatever. One of the guys gave me cab fare, sooo I saved myself $20 by walking that far, lol.

I also managed to skin my knee a bit (N told me today that I wiped out in the parking lot). N and I switched shoes on the way home since I was unable to walk in my heels. I seriously never learn with those things. I bought them specifically for my birthday (all of my heels are too small for me now….boo pregnancy 😦 ), and as soon as I get drunk I am completely unable to walk in them, and they fall off my feet. I do remember walking barefoot in snow a few times (sigh). I woke up this morning with sore feet, and I hoped that I didn’t get frostbite! (I didn’t).

Then for the GRAND FINALE, I completely forgot the code to our front door. Seriously. I have lived here for a year and I completely couldn’t remember it. Say our code was, “4589”, I was typing in “8702” four times in a row. It made an incessant beeping sound, and I was scared that it would call the cops, so I called Caleb to let me in…lol. It turns out that it doesn’t actually call the cops, it’s just a keypad, haha. Oops.

I wore cutlet boob insert things last night, and I managed to lose them 😦 . I had taken them off and put them in my purse, and they fell out somewhere. But I managed to not lose my ID, SIN card, or debit card. Go me?

Also, as a result of my kleptomania, I came away with: a “Kiss Me I’m Irish” sign, an Alexander Keith’s shirt, a shamrock shaped straw, a green fedora, 2 cups from the bar, a “Happy St. Patty’s Day” sign, as well as numerous shamrocks that were on a string. Seriously. I love how I managed to get all that crap home.

Today I was really tired, and had a mild headache, but it was nothing to write home to mom about. Then N came over, dropped off my booze, and we discussed the night. I find that’s one of my favorite parts of going out: reliving the night with your fellow drunken cohorts.

Overall, I had a great night. I didn’t make TOO big of an asshole out of myself, I didn’t throw up, I got home in one piece…..so, yes, I’ll count it as a success 🙂

Here are the pictures I took. I’m sad that I didn’t take more, but I distinctly remember not being able to figure out the flash on my camera, so maybe it’s a good thing that I didn’t. 😛

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “St. Patty’s Day – a.k.a. “The Drunken Express”

Leave a Reply

