Introducing: Weight Battle 2011 – Battle of the Baby Weight!


I joined SparkPeople a few weeks ago. If you are nursing or pregnant you can’t join. But I wanted to join, so I lied about nursing. But I suppose it doesn’t matter, because I’m officially not breastfeeding now, anyways.

I filled in all my info and according to my BMI, I am “OBESE”. It was even colorful — I am in the red.

I never thought of myself as obese. I mean, I didn’t gain any weight other than in my tummy and face. I still have nice legs, my arms aren’t too bad (could use some toning), but I did gain about 3 inches in my waist from pregnancy.

Interestingly enough, I guess they (as in, the scientists) are implementing a new scale, which is supposedly more accurate than BMI. It’s called “BAI” (body – adiposity index). According to the BAI, I am “healthy” – woot! – but with the BMI, I am still obese. Whatever, I know I need to lose weight, but it’s nice that my height/weight/hip ratio is apparently healthy…..I just have a disproportionately small ass for my weight, I think.

Anyway, so since seeing that ugly, ugly, word, I have made a pact with myself. I will go back to what I was 2 years ago, at grad, a.k.a. the lowest weight I’d been since puberty. I don’t know what my measurements were, but I will use my grad dress as a guide.

I will blog my efforts. I’m not sure how often yet…..maybe I’ll do it every week. Stay tuned. 🙂

Today:

Monday April 11, 2011:

Weight – 235 lbs (according to my bathroom scale….I know that it is 10 lbs heavier than reality, but for the sake of argument I’ll go by what that scale says.)

Measurements (inches)

Waist – 42.5

Hips – 45

Upper thigh -> (left) – 27 ; (right) – 28

Upper arm -> (left) – 14 ; (right) – 14

Pictures

04/11/11 6:52 pm

Goal:

Weight – 170 lbs

Measurements – not sure, fit into grad dress again.

Pictures

Therefore:

– 60 lbs

– at least 4 inches off my waist (approximately)

Deadline:

20 lbs – July 31, 2011 (14 weeks, 6 days)

40 lbs – October 31, 2011 (27 weeks)

60 lbs – January 31, 2011 (40 weeks, 1 day)

I’m not sure if these goals are acquirable, but it works out to about 1.5 lbs/week, which sounds reasonable. If someone can make an entire baby in 40 weeks, I figure that I should be able to lose my baby weight in that time (or at least most of it).

Plus that kind of makes it awesome….Noah will have a hot mama right around his first birthday.


Thoughts

It’s about time to start with that baby weight. Hell, “life weight”, or “freshman 15”, if I want to be really honest. I know that once I find the “sweet spot” — the perfect time in the day to work out — I’ll stick with it. I did it before. I have lost 15 lbs and 2 inches off my waist in 3 months, just with exercise, no dieting.

I think I will start with Jillian Michael’s “30 Day Shred”. It’s been sitting in my download folder for about a month now. I’ve heard good things about it, and it sounds like it could be just the thing to kick my “obese” ass into shape. I may start running again, but with snow on the ground, the last thing I want to do is break my ankle. A gym membership is not in the budget right now, so we’ll see where the 3DS gets me.

It is embarrassing to me, to be where I am…..the “I just had a baby” card is fast becoming old. I was about 190 at 9 weeks pregnant, so I had gained 20 lbs in less than a year. Thank you, college.

Now it’s time to get my ass in gear, and get back to where I was. I’m not sure if my hips will ever be the same, but we will cross that bridge when we get to it.

Overall, I am optimistic.

My goal for the rest of this week (until Friday) is to find a good time of day to workout.

___________

Have you set weight loss goals for yourself? What was the best way for you to achieve those goals (workout/diet plans, etc)? Do you have any pointers? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Introducing: Weight Battle 2011 – Battle of the Baby Weight!

  1. Hi Olivia.

    (I’m the author of the BMI-BAI calculator.)

    I think your conclusion (“I just have a disproportionately small ass for my weight”) is true. The BAI researchers said the hip measure should be around the buttocks, but I keep thinking it should be the largest measurement in the lower regions – for some that’s around the stomach, for others it’s going to be the butt.

    Good luck with your diet!

  2. I think setting your goals AND publishing them for all to see is a fantastic way to keep yourself motivated. What day of the week do you find is your “worst” day for eating healthy and staying active? You could choose the day AFTER that as the day you have to weigh in and post on your blog…might keep you motivated? I know a couple of blogs I follow, they weigh in and update on Monday to keep themselves healthier during the weekends. And they post without fail every Monday…even if it’s bad!

    As for working out, if you can just push yourself through the first couple of weeks, your body will start really craving that release. Let us know how you like the Shred! I still love to hate her but it IS an excellent workout in only 25 minutes…and none of us really have much spare time these days!

    Good luck!

  3. I would like to discover my stomach muscles – I have nothing at all after 2 kids. If I could tone them it would help keep my back in better shape. I also want to be walking/biking 5 days of the week. I want to keep moving to keep arthritis away – and I want to keep odd the weight I have lost. Returning to work is when I gain – we eat too many treats in the office and do not move enough!

    I will be cheering you on with your journey…if you could bottle up some energy I would take some for motivation!

  4. I just need to get active again. Two months on bedrest followed by seven months in a glider chair in the hospital have left me with zero muscle. None. Anywhere. It sucks. I get winded climbing two flights of stairs.

    Her stroller is a jogger and I live four blocks from a 10k route around Stanley Park. Her battery only lasts about two hours, so I’d better book it around that seawall!!

    Good luck! Keep us posted. Last time I worked out the only thing I knew for sure is that eating a good, healthy breakfast and drinking tons of water (like, 4L a day if your bladder can handle it) is awesome for weight loss.

  5. I am in my fifth week of trying to eat healthier and become more active. I get into my workout clothes as soon as I get up in the morning so that when M goes down for his nap, I stick in my video. Right now I am doing the TaeBo Boot Camp, but Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 30 is on it’s way in the mail. Usually by 11 a.m. I am done and feel great (that it’s over with). The last time I needed to lose some weight I did Weight Watchers and it worked. My issues are always my love for carbs and over doing it with portion sizes, so WW really helps me with that. This time I joined it online and it is great keeping track of it all that way. My goal is to become more active and eat healthy. So far that has meant an average of 1.5 lbs lost per week. If I want to hit my prepregnancy weight that means I have 25 lbs to lose. 35-40 would be great though 😉 Then I would fit into my wedding dress again–ha.

Leave a Reply

